Enhanced Service Pathways

Shropshire and Telford  & Wrekin currently have 6 enhanced service pathways set up. These are:

Cataract referral refinement

For further information please click here

Post-cataract follow up

For further information please click here

Glaucoma repeat measures

For further information please click here

Children’s Pathway

For further information please click here

To use these services, patients must be on the  list of a GP practice in Shropshire or Telford & Wrekin. If not, then the patient  should be referred or managed in the usual way.



Optometrists involved in any of these schemes must be on the appropriate CCG accredited list and their practice must have signed and returned the appropriate SLA..

Accreditation for all schemes, except the Children’s Pathway, involves completion of the LOCSU/WOPEC online learning package.


Cataract Pathways


There are now two enhanced cataract pathways in place for Shropshire, cataract referral refinement and post-cataract follow-up.

If you would like your practice to be part of these schemes, please email the practice name and address and optometrists’ personal email addresses.


Follow Shropshire LOC on social media